Driver's Education

 Driver's Education Department

The mission statement for the Driver's Education program at Jacksonville High School is to provide students with information needed to receive a State of Illinois driver license and the knowledge and skills needed to drive safely on the Highway Transportation System.

Classroom Drivers Ed Semester 1: student must be 15 years old by November 30

Classroom Drivers Ed Semester 2: student must be 15 years old by March 31

Course #

Description

Required or Elective

Other Information


960/961/964/965

Classroom Driver Education

Elective


* $100 fee

Prerequisite: 15 years of age by the deadline; Both fees paid at registration; Must reside in District #117

Semester


Recommendation: To be taken during 9th or 10th grade in place of 1 semester of PE


The State of Illinois requires 30 hours of classroom instruction which consists of the traffic laws, safe driving procedures, alcohol and drug usage, motorcycle operation, insurance, and the highway transportation system, among other topics. Students must achieve 70% to pass this portion of the course. To comply with the 30-hour State of Illinois requirement, the JHS attendance policy for the classroom portion of driver education requires that student absences are limited to 5 classes. Absences 3, 4, and 5 must be made up in an after school class so that the student may meet the 30-hour requirement. If a student is absent for more than 5 days for any reason, excused or unexcused, the student will be dropped from the class, and required to re-enroll during another semester.

963/964/965BTW

Behind-the-Wheel

Elective


* $150 fee

Prerequisite: Upon successful completion of Classroom Driver Education 960/961/964/965 students will automatically be enrolled

Semester


Recommendation: None


The BTW portion of Driver Education requires six hours of instruction in a dual-controlled vehicle in regular traffic including city, residential, 2-lane and 4-lane highways. Before students leave Classroom Driver Education, students will be asked for preferred Behind-the Wheel session times. Ultimately, students will be notified by their instructors with final driving times. Should a student not pass the behind-the-wheel phase, they will be re-enrolled at the earliest opportunity when space is available. If a student does not pass the 2nd time, they may re-enroll the following school year without additional cost. JHS shall not be obligated to provide behind-the-wheel instruction for students who have passed their 18th birthday and have already been enrolled in the driving phase two times.

State of Illinois - Additional Requirements


Written Examination: To be taken during classroom driver education. Must pass before obtaining the instruction permit.


Vision Screening: Must pass the vision screening before obtaining the instruction permit.


Instruction Permit: Must pay fee to Secretary of State; Provide certified copy of student's birth certificate; Provide Social Security card; Provide two documents showing residency (e.g., pieces of mail, report card, parent's driver's license, etc.)


Permit Phase: With an instruction permit, the student may drive with an instructor, parent, or an adult (over 21) who the parent has given permission to. All must have a valid driver's license. In addition to the 6 hours of behind-the-wheel time with an instructor, the student must drive 50 hours, 10 of which must be at night.


For more information regarding the Permit Phase or subsequent phases (Initial Licensing and Full Licensing) please visit:

http://www.cyberdriveillinois.com/departments/drivers/teen_driver_safety/gdl.html

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.